Beyers Naudé Memorial Lecture

Kagiso Trust patron, the late Dr. Beyers Naudé, possessed a life and identity embedded in the values of reconciliation, sacrifice, integrity and true humanity. He continues to be a moral compass for Kagiso Trust.

As South Africa grapples with racial reconciliation, social justice and courageous leadership, the Beyers Naudé Memorial Lecture Series provides a platform that encourages these difficult conversations, to seek out solutions for the betterment of society.

Having hosted the Beyers Naudé Memorial Lecture Series for 18 years since 2003, Kagiso Trust took the deliberate decision to approach tertiary institutions that would support its strategy of overcoming poverty and be a key role player in creating a society that is prosperous, peaceful, equitable and just.

Through our Beyers Naudé Memorial Lecture series, we provide students with the opportunity to be exposed to interesting topics related to higher education and leadership. We have partnered with nearly every university in the country to deliver these popular lectures and have attracted some very high-profiled speakers.

We are proud to also note that the lectures are held in high regard by the universities we partner with and immensely appreciate that Dr Beyers Naudé’s family continues to support the programme.

In 2017 Kagiso Trust secured a partnership with the University of Zululand (UniZulu) in rural KwaDlangezwa, KwaZulu Natal, which is classified as one of the country’s historically black campuses, often perceived to be a second-class institution.

Some of our Previous Speakers:

  • Archbishop Emeritus Tutu (2003 and 2008)
  • Professor Charles Villa- Vicencio (2004)
  • Former Minister of Education, Ms. Naledi Pandor (2005)
  • Prof. Russel Botman (2006)
  • Dr. Franklin Sonn (2007)
  • Rev. Cedric Mayson (2010)
  • Dr. Allan Boesak (2011)
  • Rev. Frank Chikane (2012)
  • Dr. Barney Pityana (2013)
  • Dr. Brigalia Bam (2014)
  • Archbishop Thabo Makgoba (2014)
  • Mr. Thabo Mbeki (2015)

Previous University Partners:

  • University of Pretoria (2003 – 2005)
  • Stellenbosch University (2006 – 2008)
  • University of the Free State (2009 – 2011)
  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (2012 – 2015)